MAGIC: Day 1&2 . . .

by thelookbookphilosophy

Day 1 was pretty low key. The drive out was great! no traffic, good conversation and lots of . . . ugly, brown, dessert scenery. When we first got to Vegas we headed to Whole Foods to stock up on healthy goodies for the room. It started to thunder and pour down rain while we were inside. The checker told us it was Monsoon Season here in Vegas. Wow! Didn’t know they had Monsoons in Vegas!!! After  dodging the “monsoon” we checked into our room @ The Mirage, which, by the way, was 3000+ times more fabulous than the smokey, dingy box I stayed in @ the Riviera for MAGIC in February . . . Already the trip was off to a great start! After a quick lunch we picked up our badges and walked the show briefly. It was already 5:30 and the show was closing in an hour, but our timing was great because we ran in to a friend of Gina’s who invited us to the CALPaK Hennessey party @ The Palms Resort. They rented the whole 26th floor and had different themes and music for each room. My favorite was the Barbie Suite. So cutely decorated!! Barbie’s got great taste! But did you know that Barbie also has a stripper pole in her bathroom? Hmmm . . .

Today consisted of ALOT of walking and sourcing. There was more rain & thunder, which as I said before, I LOVE!!! I rarely hear thunder in Cali, and I welcome most changes of weather. We were indoors all day unless we were on the shuttle, so it didn’t effect us much. (except for the power outage @ the Sourcing show. There were no lights when we got there and it created a kind of “intimate” feeling). I saw lots of fabulous clothes and jewelry @ Project & Pool. MAGIC had some nice stuff too, but I felt more at home in the hustle and bustle (and loud music) of the Project & Pool tradeshows. There is definitely a different feel between the shows. I was actually surprised how calm and seemingly slow the MAGIC show was. The economy has definitely had an effect on things. Photos of the products are not allowed so I can’t visually share alot of the goodies I saw, but you know I have mentally cataloged them!! Tomorrow we are walking FN . . . the shoe show. Can’t wait!!! ☺

How was your Wednesday?

