Thankful Thursdays: Mentors, a Kid-Free Day & Thai Food . . .

by thelookbookphilosophy

Gina & I @ SMASH Hollywood, CA

Happy Thursday everyone!!! This week is moving along nicely. I still feel like I have not gotten enough work done on my tech packs, but I have had some successful meetings and follow ups on important leads. Yesterday I had a great meeting with my mentor Gina Alexander. Whatever industry you are in, it is imperative to have a mentor. Someone you can trust, that is willing to lead and guide you through situations, idea implementation and other things that you may face on the day-to-day. Gina is a true blessing in my life and she is also proof that prayer is powerful. About a year ago I realized I was very isolated in my industry.  I had no “real” industry compadres. I prayed for a mentor and like-minded friends who I could share my journey with and not long after, I met Gina! We met via another dear friend (whom I also asked God to send to me) Loreta Washington, (I’ll have to share THAT story another time!- another answered prayer!!). Gina and I friended each other, on facebook, but it wasn’t until about a year later, when we reconnected at her Handbag Designer Lab, that our friendship really blossomed. God is great!!!

Spidey Display @ the Santa Monica Place Mall . . .

Anyway, on Wednesday, Rob took the kiddies to Abuela’s and we had a kid-free day!!! (Those are rare in these parts!) After his morning workshop we had the day to do with as we pleased. It was such a great day. Almost felt like we went back in time! We visited all our old haunts. We went to Santa Monica, I still had not seen the not-so-newly-anymore renovated Santa Monica Place Mall. This was the mall I grew up in. I spent many a day there after school. We walked the Promenade (another of my youthful haunts) although in those days it was nothing like it is now! (ie: homeless people, Thom McCann and Woolworth’s) In many ways, I prefer the old promenade, however, It felt good to be back home.

Le Promenade . . .

After Santa Monica we drove to Hollywood to our favorite Thai restaurant, Torung. Best. Thai. Food. Ever!!!!! A great ending to a much-needed day alone with the hubby.

Torung Restaurant, Hollywood, CA

Tom Young Goong!!!

Shrimp Cakes & Crab Fried Rice . . . Heaven!!!!

I hope you guys are enjoying your week. Keep infusing it with fun and relaxation wherever possible!!! xo

