Simply Put: Change Your Mind!!!

by thelookbookphilosophy

Many of you know that I did not make any New Year’s Resolutions this year. I vowed only to be constant in my awareness of situations and opportunities placed before me, and to live openly in the moment. Well, think of this as icing on that thought. In order to remain aware and in the moment, I know that there is extra daily work I must do (especially since I have not been apt to live freely in the moment for the past 38 years of my life). There is a bible scripture that I refer to that helps me to remain “mentally current” shall we say. The scripture is Romans 12:2. Simply stated it says:

Be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect will of God.  –Rom. 12:2 KJV

This is a pretty heavy scripture, there is so much depth to it! Don’t worry,  I won’t get all bible-study on you, but I will say that it is a daily, minute-by-minute task to work at transforming yourself by renewing your mind. There are a number of ways I go about it, and I always start with the word of God. But even before that, I have to remind myself that I have got to actually change. my. mind. That means changing the way I think about things, the way I respond to things, the way I react to situations, etc. As a woman, I find it quite easy to change my mind about many things, but it is harder when it comes to behavior and feelings that are 30+ years old! So what did I do? I made a sweatshirt to remind myself! (I have a hard time doing anything without relating it to fashion in some way). My sweatshirt is a simple reminder to continue the renewing process of my mind. It also reminds me that, with God’s help, I can change my mind.

How do keep yourself on track with your goals?

