My New Thrifted Lovelies . . .

by thelookbookphilosophy

Friday morning, after I dropped the biscuits off at school (note: biscuits = kiddies) I drove out to visit my Mom for a little much needed girl time. She took me out to Redlands to a great little restaurant called The Eating Room. The Eating Room is a really cute little restaurant with great food and a cozy decor. They even have a bakery attached–which I steered clear of, but vowed I would return in the near future for a taste test.

After breakfast we strolled a few blocks over to the Redlands Antique Mall and I found these lovely molded plastic bracelets. I LOVE them. I’ve been wanting some chunky bangles like these for a while now. Isn’t it funny how you can think to yourself that you want something, happen upon it totally unexpectedly, and then almost talk yourself out of having it, leaving yourself to live with the regret of that lost purchase? I don’t know why I almost walked away from these babies. They were exactly what I was looking for in the exact colors I wanted!!! I had scoured the whole first floor of the antique mall and was on my way out the door when I spotted them. Best of all, I had more than enough money to purchase them! I thought about this scenario as I was revelling over my purchases after I got home.  How many times do we get in our own way when God is trying to bless us? By talking ourselves out of things? By focusing on why we can not do something? By focusing on why we should not have something? Don’t get me wrong, I am a strong advocate for smart spending and not living beyond your means. But in those moments when everything is just right, when there is only pleasure to be gained, and no sorrow or regrets for anyone involved, stop and recognize the gift in that moment. You asked, and your wish was granted! Recognize that this does not have to be a fleeting thing! We can live like this every day! And not just in a materialistic way. We create the lives we want to live with our words and our thoughts. The next time you think about something you want, take it a step further by preparing yourself to receive it, and watch what happens!

